Why President Walt Disney means Seperatist Pierre Elliot Trudeau, or something like that anyways

I have recently been deeply drawn into an alternate history called A World of Laughter, A World of Tears. It starts off with a joke concept, Walt Disney becomes President of the United States in the 1950s, and then goes about destroying all moments of happy in a slowly turning curve of race war, human rights violations, Senator George Lincoln Rockwell, and Mouse-eared Hitler Youth. I like this timeline, not just because it is one of the most depressing things I have ever read (a man gets torn apart in front of a thirteen year old Bill Clinton), but also for the bright points. There seems to be a light at the end of the tunnel, and some of the bits on culture are pretty good, for instance the exchange between Ed Wood and Orson Welles (“What are we going to do tonight Orson?” “Same thing we do every night Eddie, try to take over the movies.”) Yes, I know that’s cheesy, but when you have actual race war looking like a likely event you need any bit of humour.

So, after reading this really enthralling example of alternate history I started wondering why all there aren’t any Canadian alternate timelines. I looked into it, and all I could find was an anthology of short stories called Arrowdreams, and an article about how in alternate timelines Canada is generally invaded by the Yanks or ignored because everyone they think we’re Yanks. This gets me right in the angry-at-Americans bits, so I decided I should add coming up with alternate histories for Canada should become a project.

I have no real idea what this will consist off, but my current idea is to do something with Pierre Elliot Trudeau. He is by far cooler then most politicians, if only because he was married to a fashion model and generally acted anyway he wanted, including sliding down the banister at Buckingham Palace. That’s something Doctor Who would do. So basically, I thought if I’m going to start a literary movement of alternate Canadian histories, I should probably start with odvious stuff. To me that means making Alt Trudeau a Seperatist. This will be interesting, as Trudeau was anti-Seperatist in real-life, and I want to find a way to keep Trudeau’s inherent Trudeau-ness no matter what I did to his political beliefs. I also want to do this as a wide-ranging timeline, that will feature many figures from Canada at the time, as well as non-Canadians from the time period. Trudeau already has some historical connections with Mick Jagger, so the Rolling Stones might show up. We’ll see how it goes anyways. I have a biography of Trudeau out, and at the very least I can learn more about a figure who has interested me for awhile now.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jeffrey Bryson
    Jul 12, 2013 @ 17:47:02

    Hi! Jeffrey here, better known online in the AH community as statichaos, writer of “A World Of Laughter, A World Of Tears”. Thrilled that you enjoyed the story!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

